RSS

Reset button

01 Apr

今日のデイリーブレッド

 名演奏家

2011年3月2日

 
聖書のみことば Ⅰコリント10:31-11:1

 
こういうわけで、……何をするにも、ただ神の栄光を現すためにしなさい。
―Ⅰコリント10:31


アメリカの有力新聞は、クラシックギターの演奏家のクリストファー・パークニングについて、「音楽の奥深さを解する感性と、完全なまでの技術を兼ね備えた、今日の卓越した演奏家」と称しています。しかし、パークニングには演奏活動から退いた時期があります。絶頂期の30歳で引退し、モンタナ州に牧場を買い、釣りをして暮らしていました。しかし、この悠々自適の生活は、切望していた満足感をもたらしてはくれませんでした。

カリフォルニア州に行ったときのことです。ある教会に招かれました。その教会では、福音が分かりやすく語られていました。彼はこう記しています。「その夜は、横になっても眠れませんでした。自分の罪に打ちのめされたのです。私は、自己中心的に生きてきて、少しも幸せではありませんでした…そのとき、イエス・キリストにお願いしました。私の人生に入って、私の救い主、私の人生の主になってくださいと。そして初めて、『主よ、あなたがして欲しいと望まれることなら何でもします』と言ったのです。」
 
パークニングの好きな聖書のみことばは、第一コリント10章31節です。「こういうわけで、あなたがたは、食べるにも、飲むにも、何をするにも、ただ神の栄光を現すためにしなさい。」彼は演奏活動を再開しましたが、その動機は、神の栄光を現すことでした。

私たちは一人ひとりに才能が与えられています。その才能を神の栄光のために用いるなら、人生に満足感と喜びをもたらしてくれます。 (Dennis Fisher)

私たちは、神の栄光を現すために創られた。

~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~* ~*

I read the above from Our Daily Bread on 2 March, and it was a lesson I took with me throughout the month of March.

Although I don’t have the riches and status comparable to my peers, which are also what society expects from me, I am so indifferent to it that it’s baffling to the uninitiated. I just have so much contentment and satisfaction resting on the Rock of my life. I had consciously chosen to slow down my pace of life to channel my time, energy and resources to what I value: God, family, friends and serving.

Yet over time, I had unconsciously allowed myself to be lazy and self-indulgent.

I may not hanker after luxury goods but I chase after the luxury of time.

I don’t drive around town in a racey car but I drive the freedom of schedules.

I don’t own priced properties but I have full reign over my hours.

Lest you think I’m not working at all and just wasting away my life, that I’m not. I do put in 200% in the work and life that I have.

But somehow I’ve allowed myself to fall into a trap of settling for less than God’s will in my life. I got complacent and comfortable, and stood still.

How do I know that?

I sometimes have this nagging sense that I’m not living my life completely and fully used by God. And sometimes caring folks around me would remind me that I should consider certain options. I’ve learnt that when more than one person voice out the same concern that I’ve been hearing within myself, I should sit up and seek God more seriously about the matter.

I know that I’ll only be truely satisfied and joyful when I am moving in God’s will. Whatever gifts He has granted to me, I want to use them to glorify Him, in wherever He’s calling me to.

With that conviction, I took a bold step to press the reset button, and it’s incredible how quickly God has been moving ever since.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Scribbles

 

Leave a comment