RSS

Strengthened to serve

10 May

It was the first sunrise for the crisis relief team in the land of the rising sun.

The morning sun rays beamed in through the glass door of the church and nudged me out of my sleeping bag to see its full glory.

I was reminded once again, that His love, like the rising sun, is new every morning, and that I can draw strength from Him to start each day afresh.

Indeed, it was His strength that saw me through the days at ground zero daily.

Before we departed for Japan, God had promised the team through Psalm 121 that He’d be our helper.

詩編 / 121

1節 わたしは山にむかって目をあげる。わが助けは、どこから来るであろうか。

2節 わが助けは、天と地を造られた主から来る。

3節 主はあなたの足の動かされるのをゆるされない。あなたを守る者はまどろむことがない。

4節 見よ、イスラエルを守る者は/まどろむこともなく、眠ることもない。

5節 主はあなたを守る者、主はあなたの右の手をおおう陰である。

6節 昼は太陽があなたを撃つことなく、夜は月があなたを撃つことはない。

7節 主はあなたを守って、すべての災を免れさせ、またあなたの命を守られる

8節 主は今からとこしえに至るまで、あなたの出ると入るとを守られるであろう。

    

This church was our base camp. It couldn’t be built on a better spot.

The rising sun shines directly at it every morning. I felt that it symbolises that the church (family of God) that receives His light will carry it out to the world.

And I heard that the ground on which this church was built on, is extremely hard and stable. It had withstood earthquakes up to magnitude 7 without any damage.

When I was there, there were at least 2 earthquake alerts sounded on the Japanese mobile phones. One was in the middle of the night, but I slept through it without a stir. Another was in the morning. I could hear the glass and things shaking outside the church building, but sitting inside the building, I didn’t feel any shaking at all.

When we’re wise and build our house on the Lord our rock, it will not be shaken!

With Him on our side, as we serve Him and the people in Japan, what and who can be against us?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in Scribbles

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Strengthened to serve

  1. Judy Chow

    May 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Hi,

    your posting makes me weep. I am so blessed to have met you. God is Good and He brought us together to serve with one purpose and that is to focus on Him and using His strength, love and joy to reach out to the nation of Japan.

    I thank God for you and your love for Japan.

     
    • tabehodai

      May 13, 2011 at 8:47 am

      I thank God for you, too!

      I’ve learnt so much about serving from you.

      God bless.

       
  2. Judy Chow

    May 16, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Hi, I remember we woke up together but me, being a Martha missed such a beautiful moment with God. Yet, through u I am given a 2nd change to view this glorious moment of love over Pastor’s church.

    Hmm another lesson for me to learn, thank you sister.

     

Leave a Reply

 
