RSS

A miracle!

21 Sep

Through this post, I’m SHOUTING to the world that it’s a miracle I’m still alive, and very well, today!

Flashback to 17 September 2010, several seconds around 1620 hrs, after a heavy downpour, behind the Waterfront Plaza, next to the Singapore River

There was some rustling of leaves as a branch came crushing down from a tree, and spilt into 3 parts. Each part was about 40-60 cm long and about 20 cm thick.

I was less than 1 m away from this fallen branch.

It was on the path of where I would have walked.

It could have hit me.

I could have been hurt.

I could have been killed.

I could have become another statistic in these recent months of falling tree accidents in this country.

Yet, seconds before the branch fell, my mobile phone had rung and I had to stop in my track to search for it in my big bag. In the spilt seconds between finding my mobile phone and pressing the answer button, I heard the rustled leaves and witnessed the branch breaking into 3 parts, as it hit the ground less than 1 m from where I was standing.

 The first thing I said to the caller was, “You saved my life!”

Of course, B, who was at the end of the line, had no idea what had happened.

In one breath, I rattled on about the fallen branch in front of me. I was still trying to process what had happened and the gravity of the consequence if I had walked on without stopping.

Simultaneously, we both shouted, “Praise the Lord!”

I walked past the fallen branch quickly and crossed a bridge to the other side of the river. B said I should go back and take a picture of the fallen branch. But I replied that I wouldn’t want to take the risk of another falling branch.

The next person I related my story to, was K. His response was, “You’re lucky.”  But I know that it’s not just luck. It’s protection from God.

God sent Jesus to die on the cross for me more than 2000 years ago, so that after I had received Him as the Lord and Saviour in my life, His presence dwells in and around me, in the form of the Holy Spirit. It was God who had protected and saved me from the falling branch.

“Show the wonder of your great love, you who save by your right hand those who take refuge in you from their foes.” ~* Psalm 17:7

On the return trip, a couple of hours later, as I crossed the bridge, I thought that there’s a chance I could get a photo of the fallen branch.

As expected, life by the river had resumed with people jogging and walking their dogs, and the weekend merry-making had started.

The fallen branch was nowhere in sight.

I walked past the spot where I had experienced God’s miracle a few hours ago, and with a heart of thanksgiving, I texted some dear friends to share about my narrow escape.

Although I don’t have a photo as an evidence of what had happened, I can use my words, and my life, as an evidence that I’m alive because I have a supernatural God!

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Scribbles

 

Tags:

One response to “A miracle!

  1. kany

    September 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    無事でよかった!

    雨だけじゃなくて、風にも気をつけないとね。

     

Leave a Reply

 
