RSS

Afternoon tea time

11 Aug

My first impression of an afternoon tea time was formed after reading Alice in Wonderland when I was a child.

I still remember taking out play tea-sets and enjoying afternoon tea with my family, neighbours, cousins, friends, aunties and just about anyone whom I could get hold of!

Today I relived those tea sipping moments with significantly one of my very first friends.

A retreat space in the middle of a busy district.

D and I went back a long way… back to the era when there was no mobile phones nor internet. We went to primary school only for a year together, yet we kept in touch by writing countless letters to each other over the years.

Then somehow we lost touch for some years in between.

One day, early this year, I was tidying (unsuccessfully) some old greeting cards and I spotted one from D.

I looked at her familiar address which I had handwritten on numerous letters and cards addressed to her in the past. I wondered if she still lived there. I wished I had a number to call and speak to her. I wished I could email her. I contemplated popping over to that address to find her.

God must have heard my thoughts.

Cos’ the next day, I walked into a bookstore and, there, walking right towards me was D!!!

I couldn’t believe it and I just had to jump with excitement!

Before we parted, we made sure that we had exchanged mobile numbers, email addresses and just about any means of contacts.

And since then, we’ve been catching up and filling each other in, on those ‘missing’ years of our lives.

Today, we sat down blissfully to enjoy an afternoon tea time. Of course, with real cakes and tea!

I had a Strawberry Souffle.

 

小さいごろから私は午後お茶の時間が大好きなので、

よく周りの人に私とティータイムを遊ばせました。

 

大きくなったら本格的なお茶の時間ができてすごく嬉しいです。

 

今日は最近再会したD-さんと美味しいケーキを食べながら、

D had a Framboise Chocolate.

ゆっくり午後の時間を過ごして、本当にありがたいです。

 

次回のアフタヌーンティータイムを楽しみにしています。

 

Flor Patisserie
2 Duxton Hill
Tel: 6223-8628

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2010 in Nibbles

 

2 responses to “Afternoon tea time

  1. Ivan Chew

    August 12, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Amazing 🙂 To have reconnected with your friend when you were thinking about it.

     
    • tabehodai

      August 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Indeed! It’s about thinking in the 4th dimension… that’s another topic for a future post. Thanks for the star!

       

Leave a Reply

 
