RSS

Running the race

31 May

I have yet to sign up for a marathon. I hesitate as I’m afraid of the rigorous training required to prepare for the race day.

My friend D, who runs marathons, advised that to prepare for a marathon I should be consistent in my training. I should run 3 times a week, 10 km each time, and run 21 km on weekends.

Little did I know that I had signed up for a much longer endurance race than a marathon.

It’s called   l i f e.

The Christian life is likened to a life-long race.

 

~ 1 Corinthians 9:24-25 ~ Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

 

Since I had committed myself to running in this race of life, I want to run to win.

Yes, I want the prize –  a crown that will last forever, an abundant life.

So, I have to undergo strict training.

What does the strict training involve?

Whilst sharing on this topic with a group of children, WL suggested that it involves character training.

For example, when someone upsets me, how do I react? When I get angry, how do I manage my temper? When something good happens, do I remember to give thanks? When things look gloomy, do I still have the faith that God is in control? Do I get easily offended or hurt by the words and actions of others?

Every individual’s challenges are different.

Only God knows the real ‘I’, one that I may not be fully aware of either.

On my part, I can be more conscientious in my daily spiritual training, which is during my quiet time with Him.

It is only by spending time with Him through reading the Bible, and communicating and listening to Him through prayers, that I can remain in good shape for the daily challenges on my race.

At times, I may fail and fall, and get mentally or emotionally bruised badly. But that’s the exact spot where God wants to mould and shape me. He’ll pick me up from there and try me again, until I am strong enough to carry on further in the race.

Like D, who despite finishing his last marathon with sored legs, is motivated to conquer the next race with a better timing, I’m also going to keep running my race so that each day will be better than the previous one.

I’m using the Lord’s fire as fuel for my run!

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2010 in Scribbles

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
