RSS

Trust and obey

17 May

Lord, what can I be for you?
What can I do for you?
Who can I pray for?

My child, do you trust me?

Yes, Lord, I trust you.

Then, follow me, and I will show you the way.

The bible teaches about trust in Matthew 6:28-30
“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?”

To follow is to obey.

Isn’t it burdensome to obey?

Most of us probably find traffic laws such a bother to follow, especially when we’re running late for an appointment. We have to stop at red lights and drive within a certain speed limit. We can’t drive through red lights, nor go as fast as we wish. We may obey the traffic laws because we don’t want to be fined, nor receive demerit points.

But have we considered that the traffic laws were made for our protection and safety, and the fines were an afterthought to deter us from breaking the laws?

It’s like a double protection. The law-makers must have understood human nature really well. They made safety laws which they knew men will break, then they made punishment laws for those who break the safety laws.

Parents, too, make house rules for their children, with the intention of loving them and caring for their safety and well-being.

Our Heavenly Father shares this same heart, and He watches over us daily.

I will trust and obey God, because He loves me and I love Him.

“This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome” 1 John 5:3

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2010 in Scribbles

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
