RSS

Cooking lessons

18 Mar

I cook because I love eating. I can’t decide if I enjoy eating more than cooking, or cooking more than eating. I guess I enjoy both to the same extent. Although my parents taught me how to eat, it’s the Holy Spirit who taught me how to cook. What I failed to learn from a very stern Home Economics teacher in school, I learnt under the gentle guidance of the HS. Time after time, it’s the HS who stands by me in the kitchen, whispering advice and giving me creative ideas, as I whip up something for the day.

John 14:25 the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things

Having tasted H’s pumpkin salad last week, I felt inspired to make my own today.

Me: It’s my first attempt, so I shall buy just half a pumpkin.
HS: But whole pumpkins are fresher.
Me: Eh… I don’t know how to choose a whole pumpkin, especially since I can’t see the inside of it.
HS: Pick a heavy one.
Me: Ok. This one feels heavy??
HS: Good choice!

Back at home, I cut the Japanese pumpkin into half, and immediately, I could smell its wholesome goodness! It was so fresh that juices was oozing out from the flesh.

The sweet aroma of a fresh Japanese pumpkin is heavenly.

Me: Pumpkins are really hard so it would take a very long time to make them soft.
HS: Remember how you can soften potatoes really quickly? It’s the same with pumpkins.
Me: Oh yes, I can use the microwave oven!
Me: I remember H’s pumpkin salad had some green bits. Those could be the skin. Do I have to remove the skin?
HS: Yes.
Me: Oh dear, the skin is really hard to cut away. Maybe I can leave the skin on.
HS: First, slice the pumpkin, then try to cut away as much of the skin as possible.
Me: Alright, I’ll try my best. How many minutes should I microwave the cut pumpkin?
HS: 5 minutes will do, and when it’s done, leave it to steam inside the microwave oven.
Me: How many cloves of garlic should I add?
HS: 3 to 5, depending on how much you like garlic.
Me: How much mayonnaise should I add?
HS: 2 tablespoons.

Would you like a scoop of pumpkin salad?

Pumpkin Garlic Salad

Half a Japanese pumpkin

Minced garlic, 5 cloves

Mayonnaise, 2 TBS

Black pepper

1. Scoop out the seeds of the pumpkin.

2. Slice the pumpkin and remove the skin. Cut the sliced pumpkin into bite size.

3. Microwave the cut pumpkin for 5 minutes and leave it to steam for a while inside the microwave oven.

4. Mash the softened pumpkin with a fork.

5. Whilst the pumpkin is warm, add minced garlic and mayonnaise, and mix well. Add some black pepper to taste.

6. Serve at room temperature, or refrigerate and serve cold.

Bon Appetit!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in Nibbles

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
