RSS

A reminder about the Father’s love

15 Mar

A dialogue in the Japanese drama 大和撫子七変化 ‘yamato nadeshiko shichi henge’ caught my attention. It was a scene between a father and his son before they were separated by the father’s departure (death).

君はパパの事が好きだな?

The boy’s father asked him, “Do you love me?”

The boy nodded.

私も君をそしてママをとても愛してる。

The father affirmed him, “I love you and your mother very much, too.”

この愛はね、目に見えなくてもね、ずっとあっただよ。パパと君たちの間に。君が信じていてくれれば、これからもずっとパパの愛は君たちの中にある。ずっとずっと一緒なんだよ。

His father added that although the love between them is invisible to the eyes, it has always been there. As long as he (the boy) believes, the father’s love will always be in his heart (the hearts of those who believe in that love). Hence, they’re together forever.

Don’t the lines sound familiar?

Our Heavenly Father asks the same question, do you love me?

My reply is a loud resounding YES!

But, you may ask, how do I know the love of God when I can’t see God and I can’t see His love?

In 1 John 4, the section about God’s Love and Ours, it was written,

 9This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 10This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

12No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

That’s right! I have experienced God’s love amongst God’s people, some of whom I know, and others I don’t. They have prayed for and with me, and have encouraged me in my walk with God.

So, how can I be together with God forever? I must believe in God’s love for me through Jesus.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

There, it’s that simple. All I have to do is to believe in the Father’s love, and to receive it.

Like a child, I sit at the foot of my Heavenly Father each day and enjoy His lovely presence with much joy in my heart!

Enjoying His lovely presence

1 Peter 1:8-9 

Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.
 
 
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2010 in Scribbles

 

Leave a Reply

 
