RSS

Gazing at stars

14 Mar

This is one of the earliest nursery rhymes I learnt to sing:

Twinkle, twinkle, little star,
How I wonder what you are.
Up above the world so high,
Like a diamond in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle, little star,
How I wonder what you are.

And not too long ago, a 6-year-old girl taught me how to sing it in Japanese. We were lying down on a mat and looking up at the sky, during an over-run of an outdoor concert in the park. There were many people around us, but in those moments, it was just the two of us in our little world, trying to spot some twinkling stars as she taught me the song anew.

きらきらひかる   kira kira hikaru
お空の星よ   osora no hoshi yo
まばたきしては  mabataki shite wa
みんなを見てる   minna wo miteru
きらきらひかる   kira kira hikaru
お空の星よ   osora no hoshi yo

It’s amazing how easily the human eyes get distracted by the city lights and become oblivious to stars. But there in the park, it was dark except for some lights from the stage and some dim lamp posts. Soon, my little friend pointed with excitement to the first star she spotted. “Look! There’s a star hiding behind that tree! Can you see it, too?” Amidst melodious music accompainment, we were mesmerized by the wondrous lights from up above us.

I couldn’t help but think of Abraham. As I gazed at the stars, I recalled the night when the Lord took Abraham outside and asked him to look up at the heavens and to count the stars (Genesis 15:5). I don’t know how Abraham felt or what went through his mind. But from his life, I know that he was a man who walked closely with God and he had great faith in the Lord. He never doubted God’s promise, his trust in the Lord was always strong and he was always grateful to God.

I am grateful to God and I believe that just as He had fulfulled His promises to Abraham and many others, He will fulfill His promises in my life.

Genesis 22:17  I will surely bless you and make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as the sand on the seashore.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2010 in Scribbles

 

Leave a Reply

 
